Newly-elected Parliament’s first session kicks off – LIVE


Thefirst session of the 6th convocation of Armenia’s Parliament kicked off. The session is chaired by Knyaz Hasanov, leader of the country’s Kurdish community and most senior Member of Parliament.

The Armenian government is due to resign during the session. Lawmakers will elect the Parliament’s speaker and vicespeakers.

The ruling party – the Republican Party of Armenia – will nominate Ara Babloyan as speaker of Parliament, and Arpine Hovhannisyan and Eduard Sharmazanov as vice-speakers. The Tsarukyan bloc will nominate Michael Melkumyan as opposition vice-speaker.

The ruling party will also present the issue of reducing the number of permanent commission’s of the Parliament from 12 to 9.